Totally Random Tuesday #1: I love purple

This is the first in a series of weekly posts where I tell you completely random things about myself. 🙂

I love all things purple. It’s completely irrational and completely girly…which is so not me…I’m not a girly girl really. I have purple drink bottles, purple folders, purple leather gloves…even a purple car. I like the royal purples rather than the electric purples. I don’t quite know why I’m so passionate about purple…but it always makes me feel comfortable and brings a smile to my face

Here’s something totally gross I just discovered about my favourite colour…

The word ‘purple’ comes from the Old English word purpul which originates from the Latin purpura. This in turn is derived from the Koine Greek πορφύρα (porphyra), name of the dye manufactured in Classical antiquityfrom the mucus-secretion of the hypobranchial gland of a marine snail known as the Murex brandaris or the spiny dye-murex.[4]   {Wikipedia}

It originated from SNAIL SPIT!!!!! Euuuuwww! Gross!

What’s your favourite colour? Why?

Michelle

One response to “Totally Random Tuesday #1: I love purple

  1. My favourite colour is red red red….and shade at all!! I love red gerbera’s, roses and poppies; I love ladybugs and strawberries; red lipstick and red nail polish; red clothes and red shoes; and in my new home, I will have a red wall!!!!!!! Why do I love red??? I am not toally sure. I guess because it is such a strong and emotional colour….and all the things I love the most come in that colour!!

Leave a Reply

