Preaching confesssional…

God is good! God is faithful!

I have had a heck of a week. This morning I preached the third message in my series called “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Spiritual Growth” which is a series of five messages talking about the practical things we can do to facilitate growth and get to know God better. This morning’s message was all about worship and the fact that authentic worship is the key to getting into the presence of God.

I’ve had the outline set out for this message for months and I knew exactly what I wanted to say. I was knocked for six when the whole Mike Guglielmucci thing blew up, because I was going to use his testimony video as an example of the power of private worship. But God was gracious and He gave me plenty of time to rework what He wanted delivered this morning.

So…fast forward….I had been writing bits and pieces throughout this past week and not feeling like it was coming together at all. I knew what needed to be said, but everytime I sat down to write…it just wasn’t happening. I was getting heart palpitations and all of these random thoughts kept popping into my head that were so distracting and crippling that I just could not write.

I finally realised that the devil was having a field day with my head and rallied a bunch of people to pray for me as I finished preparing. Everytime I had a distracting thought come into my head after that…that old Amy Grant song popped into my head “Oh Lord our Lord how majestic is Your name in all the earth”, and then this morning our worship leader (Robyn) gave a meditation on the Psalm that those words come from…it was like God was reaching down and giving me a hug, and soothing my soul. God is SO COOL the way He gives us these breadcrumbs to let us know that He loves us!

I also had a great sleep last night …which NEVER happens the night before I speak. Praise the Lord for prayer warriors!

God is so gracious in trusting a flawed person like me share my heart with others. What a privilege!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

