Fit Friday #8 – the anatomy of failure

Well another week has gone by and despite being very conscious of what went in my mouth and getting back into running after a short injury break, I have only lost 100g…..which could well be just because I peed more this morning than last Friday morning. You are not getting a photo. I am too depressed and I am reverting to my camera resistant self.

It is time to face the fact that I am not going to lose four and a half kilos within the next two weeks before we go on holidays. I have failed to meet my goal.

Am I going to give up and eat like there’s no tomorrow? Nup. Whilst at this point in time I’m feeling that would be a perfectly legitimate way to make myself feel better, it’s not really going to help. Why? Because this failure to meet a goal is only one small milestone within a broader context of wanting to get healthy and lose some weight. That hasn’t changed. The fact of the matter is that this week I have knocked off one of my major goals (running the fun run last weekend), and I am proud of myself for that. I’m not happy with myself for dropping the ball on getting a swimsuit ready body before the holidays, but I’ll adjust the timeline and review what I’ve been doing to try to meet my goals and make some adjustments. I will need to keep reminding myself to keep my eye on the long term goal and remembering how far I’ve come in real terms. At the beginning of last year I was 15 or so kilograms heavier than I am now. The progress might be slow, but in the scheme of things I am still moving in the right direction.

I am convinced that the secret to health and weight loss is as much in my inner monologue as it is in the gym or the padlock on the fridge door.

What do you think? How do you talk to yourself about this stuff? Are you worth the effort?

Michelle

One response to “Fit Friday #8 – the anatomy of failure

  1. It’s not a quick fix kind of thing and I commend you on your attitude! Anything worth having in life takes time and effort, your determiniation to keep the bigger picture in mind is what’s going to get you to your goal… be encouraged you’ve done amazingly well and you will get there!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

