What do you do to connect with God?

I have had one of those stressful and stupid-busy weeks…and drawing is fast becoming my therapy during those times in my week where I have no choice but to sit and wait for something else to happen. Drawing slows me down. Drawing gives me time to breathe. It’s cathartic in a similar way to journal writing, but it takes it that next step further. It’s like a meditation. Taking the time to take a close look at an element of God’s creation in a study like the one above, noticing the way the colour changes, looking at the textures of the velvety petals and the knobby stem, helps me to connect with God. The bible tells me that God cares for the “flowers of the field” … how much more does he care for me…a child made in His image.

Drawing is one of the ways I like to connect with God and offer my worship.

How do you connect with God?

Michelle

This week’s Creative Chaos 🙂

4 responses to “What do you do to connect with God?

  1. Wow, what a question.

    Writing, music, art – almost any form of creation.

    But probably more than anything, over the past few years breathing has become my primary way to find God and to find myself.

    I’m a firm believer that worship is finding God and you can find God in whatever you do.

    God is always present; what’s absent is our awareness.

  2. dorothy (vicar of vibe)

    I so agree Jim. Great question.
    More recently for me simply waking up.
    I am so grateful for having God in my life.
    How to I like to connect:
    Singing, creating the elements that God puts in my brain, hanging out with my lost friends…

  3. Hi Jim and Dorothy! Taking the time to be aware is key isn’t it? I am a busy mum and I work outside the home too, so my life has a tendancy to race at times. Having something that forces me to slow down and take notice is really valuable. I’m not sure about where you guys are, but here (lots of IT ppl in my town) feel that creativity is for the arty farty hippy types, or old ladies doing needlework, so creativity gets a bad rap. It’s nice to be able to conenct with other likeminded folks! Thanks for taking the time to reply! 🙂

  4. I love this question, and equally love the answers posted so far. It’s beautiufl that you are able to connect with God this way, Mick. I am a busy Mum too, Mother of four little boys. And I am practice manager to our own business. There are never enough hours in a day, and connecting with God is often a real effort. Yep, I do get up a little earlier in the mornings, and find a little time to do my devotions, Bible study, etc….and these quiet moments are very precious. But connecting with God outside of these moments is often hard to do. Lately, though, I have been finding those times when my children are QUIET….lol, which is often rare!! Recently, those times have included driving to and from school, evening walks with the boys, and gardening. I find that in these quiet times, I can really focus on God and prayer…and I often find these times great to have good chats with Geoff about current Bible study topics, etc. Like you said, Mick….it’s the taking the TIME TO BE AWARE thats the key…..and each and everyone of us finds that in different ways. Being SPIRITUALLY HUNGRY is the first most beautiful and important step, and I am sure God desires to see that in us more and more.

    Lee

Leave a Reply

