Not Happy with Virgin!

I am the proud owner of a shiney new iPhone (even though I said I’d never get one..usability and Twitter won me over). The problem is that it’s not working like it’s supposed to. The good thing is that it’s not a problem with the phone. My problem lies with my mobile carrier. Virgin Mobile Australia. You see, I ordered the phone last Wednesday, and received it within two days…excellent service so far. I expected to charge it, activate it and I’d be right (speaking from experience, I’ve seen it done). But that’s not what happened. I contacted Virgin the following morning and was told that I’d need to wait 24-48 hours for my previous plan to be changed over to the new data plan. I wasn’t happy, but what could I do? I put up with only having Net access when I was in Wi-Fi range, and called again first thing monday morning. Again I was told … 24-48 hours, your service will be switched on and someone will contact you. I was willing to show a little more grace, so I waited…still no one called and my data plan still wasn’t operational. This morning I called for the third time and spoke to two different people. and for the third and fourth times I was told … wait another 24-48 hours! It has been a week since I ordered my phone and verbally agreed to the contract for the data plan, and yet I still get told to wait for a phone call, with no explanation of why or how long it will take for the data plan to be set up!!!!

I have been a Virgin devotee in a number of areas for many years, faithfully choosing their services over traditional, established providers, because they offered great service with a quirky twist that appealed to my inner rebel. I have always been very impressed and pleased with their service. This experience however, has left a very bad taste in my mouth. I am extremely disappointed with the lack of adequate communication as well as the delay in delivering the services they promised.

I hope this gets sorted out soon….next stop … the Ombudsman.

signed…Waiting by the phone

3 responses to “Not Happy with Virgin!

  1. Very frustrating when things like that happen. Especially with a new toy you can’t use. Perhaps you write a letter to Richard like the guy in this link did. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/travelnews/4344890/Virgin-the-worlds-best-passenger-complaint-letter.html
    Its very funny. I hope you can get to it, I am not very good at adding links.

  2. Te hehehehe. I love Richard Branson’s style! If I was half the leader he is I’d be very happy 🙂 I wonder if the guy took the job…

  3. That’s a frustrating story. It seems that the only way to get things done these days is to keep chasing it up. Wouldn’t it be nice if everyone just did what they were supposed to?

Leave a Reply

