The restoration phase

961618_be_healthy_2

This post is part of my adventure series…click here to make sure you catch the whole series.

As far as I can tell at this stage of the adventure there will be at least two phases. I’m guessing that the phases will be somewhat parallel after the first little bit. The first phase is the restoration phase. Anne Jackson’s book  Mad Church Disease outlines four areas of a person’s life that need to be healthy in order to follow God and approach  this lifelong adventure in a sustainable way. They are:

  • spiritual health;
  • physical health;
  • emotional health; and
  • relational health.

When these four areas intersect, we find out sweet spot for sustainability. God built us as whole people whose whole lives are supposed to be dedicated to this grand expedition of following Him…we can’t just look after our spiritual health and neglect the other areas if we’re going to make it to the other end in one piece.

For me, I can’t get moving on this adventure until I address each of these areas, and I can tell you now that I’m in need of some serious work to get healthy.

So where do I start? I haven’t got a clue to be honest. Baby steps…obviously…too much all at once and I’ll get discouraged and crawl under a rock. One step at a time is the way to lasting health in each of these areas.

My first step will be a weekend of solitude, prayer, meditating on scripture, fasting and working through the examination steps in Anne’s book. My lovely family bought me a long weekend away by myself for Mother’s Day, so in a couple of weeks I’ll trek up to Jindabyne and take a long hard look at myself and see what needs to be dealt with in order to get healthy.

I am so excited to be on this adventure, and I want to know what God’s preparing me for, but I also know that I’m not ready yet.

How’s your overall health? Are you fit for the adventure you’re on? Have you been there, done that and bought the t-shirt? How did you start?

Michelle

If you want to see all of the posts about my adventure click here.

2 responses to “The restoration phase

  1. can’t wait to keep following you!

  2. Hi Anne! I’ll be popping over to visit your forum and get connected with some fellow travellers.

Leave a Reply

