Journey versus Adventure

This post is part of my adventure series…click here to make sure you catch the whole series.

1176541_riverrafting816795_rafting_3

I started out thinking about this thing that I’m doing as a “journey”. That’s what I’ve called it in my head and in my journal for months, but this week as I’ve been blogging about it and starting to think about it in more concrete terms, I’ve started to get excited and it’s feeling much more like an adventure than a journey.

I think that the words we use to talk to ourselves (and others) are really important. Words are important. Using the right words can make all the difference in our approach to the the things we do. Words can motivate us or they can give us a subconscious excuse to be lazy.

Here’s what the words Journey and Adventure remind me of…

Journey:

  • passive
  • waiting
  • drifting
  • airy fairy
  • feminine
  • old
  • journey to death

Adventure:

  • active
  • energy
  • purpose
  • excitement
  • forward
  • direction
  • exploring
  • vibrant

The first picture above is how I think about a journey, the second one reminds me of a great adventure. I want a life of energy and excitement, not one of aimless drifting. 🙂

What do you think life with Jesus should be like? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

If you want to see all of the posts about my adventure click here.

Leave a Reply

