Fit Friday // I’m good at starting things

1090940_running

I resurrected Fit Friday a couple of weeks ago and then promptly forgot about it << note to self…WRITE down your posting schedule!>>

Here’s the deal. I need to loose about 20kgs. I want to lose it before I turn 40, so that gives me about 18 months. More importantly I need to get fit. I am coming to learn that life is to be lived as a whole…my physical health impacts my spiritual health, my emotional health and my relational health. I can’t push it off to one side and ignore it any longer. But I have a problem.

You see, I am a good starter. I know that I can very easily stick to a diet or an exercise regime for maybe six or eight weeks max. Then I fail and don’t get back into the routine again. What I really need to do is to build these healthy habits into my life so that they are sustainable in the long run. I’m not sure how to do that.

So far I have started by adding exercise every day for a minimum of 30 minutes (preferrably longer)…I’m thinking I need to raise the intensity for a couple of those to really burn some of this post-baby fat off.

I’m also working at introducing healthy eating habits, but that is harder, and I find weekends especially difficult.

Do any of you have the same problem of being a great starter but not able to sustain the effort? Are any of you lifelong exercisers and healthy people? Can you help me find the way forward?

Michelle

3 responses to “Fit Friday // I’m good at starting things

  1. Pingback: Fit Friday // I’m good at starting things

  2. Michelle.
    Don’t discount the possibility that your body is revolting to your chage of routine / amount you eat / exercise afte the 6-8 weeks. There is a very real hormonal response to lowered calori intake after about that time. check up on the function of leptin and ghrellin in our bodies…

  3. My body is revolting alright ;o) sorry couldn’t resist ;o)

    I’ll check those hormones out!

    Thanks Janet 🙂

Leave a Reply

